So yeah, I’m really bad at giving things titles. Yeah…

If for some strange reason you’re here and don’t know who I am, my name is Allison and I’m in my last semester at TCNJ as a digital arts major. This blog is supposed to be a collection of my thoughts and the stuff that is currently interesting me/eating up my life…so we’ll see how that goes!

Anyway, I got the chance to go to Florida over the winter break.  Now normally mention of Florida conjures up the images of the tourist trap that is Orlando and copious amounts of beaches, sunshine, etc. So why am I bothering to mention it? Because new area = new art museums to explore! Unfortunately I didn’t get to go to nearly as many as I wanted due to back spasms towards the end of the trip. (Seriously, for once I actually desperately wanted to go to museums of my own free will. O_O) But! The one I did get to go to was pretty awesome.

I don't know why I'm making that face.

I don’t really consider myself anywhere near being a hardcore Salvador Dali fan, but he’s just one of those guys you can’t go through any kind of art schooling without at least knowing a) who he is and b) the name of the painting below. But like they say (whoever “they” are…) when in St. Petersburg, do as the St. Petersburg-ians do.

The Persistence of Memory

One of the paintings they *didn't* have at the Dali Museum...

The museum itself is really only the size of a gallery, but the sheer variety and amount of work Dali produced over the course of his lifetime was pretty incredible. And apparently he designed some very fancy  jewelry and decorative eating utensils in addition to being a painter.

The trip was worth it for the experience of getting to see Dali’s original artwork. One thing I’ve learned here at college is that seeing an artist’s work live and in person beats reading about it in a book any day of the week. But even aside from that, the museum got me thinking about my own future as an “artist”. The work I’m doing now seems like it’s totally consuming and encompassing of my entire world. But years from now, it’s just going to be a small piece of a bigger picture that is (hopefully!) constantly changing and evolving as I do. Whether or not art is the way I make my living or simply express myself, that’s what I hope is the case.

If you’re interested in learning more about the Dali Museum, they have a website! Check it out, it’s pretty neat.

salvadordalimuseum.org

I’m pretty sure that’s all I got for now…till next time~

